Suggestions for planning a long trip

Talk about anything at all

Moderator: john

hvhavel

Suggestions for planning a long trip

#1 Post by hvhavel »

So I have an idea of a trip... well several =) - but it is pretty long. Suggestions on how to plan a trip? (I believe I know what equipment / experience I need - but logistics wise I don't know what I don't know.)

Right now I have maps, I see some trails on it, been on parts of some of the trails. I have an idea of what equipment to take with us (planning for two people), but I'm a bit baffled on rules of camping out in the bush. I've had some very good experiences and some very bad experiences with villages. So on bush trails between villages, how does one figure out what is "public" land vs. where we aren't welcome to camp - and how far off of the trail? And personal safety? (vs. environmental / weather safety)

One trip I'd like to take (for example) is to Bettle's Lodge, but I haven't found a traversable route there yet - and I know parts of the tundra off of the haul road you aren't allowed to snowmachine on. Unfortunately, that (where is it legal/illegal to snowmachine) doesn't show up on the USGS map. Suggestions on how to research places that we can't snowmachine? Can I walk into the Bureau of Land Management with maps and expect them to show me where I can't go?

Have any of you done log hauls (greater than 2 days - preferably a week or more - with lots of camping) here in Alaska and willing to share their experience / lessons learned?

Thanks!

Heather

john
Administrator
Administrator

Re: Suggestions for planning a long trip

#2 Post by john »

Heather, sounds like your planning a couple overnighters on the trail.